People

‌Departmental Chair

Maria Galli Stampino

Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and College Diversity
Interim chair of Sociology

mgstampino@miami.edu

(305) 284-4036

People

Olena Antonaccio

Assoc. Professor
Director of Criminology and Criminal Justice MS/Certificate Program

oantonaccio@miami.edu

(305) 284-2075
Olena Antonaccio (Principal Investigator, University of Miami) with Saman Zonouz (Principal Investigator, Rutgers University), Manohar Murthi (Co-Principal Investigator, University of Miami), Kamal Premaratne (Co-Principal Investigator, University of Miami). 2013-2015. “Cybercrime Susceptibility in the Sociotechnical System:...

Linda Liska Belgrave

Assoc. Professor

l.belgrave@miami.edu

(305) 284-6129

Jomills Henry Braddock, II

Professor

braddock@miami.edu

(305) 284-6113

Marvin Phillip Dawkins

Professor

mdawkins@miami.edu

(305) 284-6127
Editorial Board, Journal of Race and Policy, 2004 -  Faculty Advisor, FEF Interdisciplinary Research Journal, 2002 -  Editorial Board, Negro Education Review, 1996 - 

Roger G. Dunham

Professor

rgdunham@miami.edu

(305) 284-6170

Robert J Johnson

Professor

rjohnson@miami.edu

(305) 284-4973

John W Murphy

Professor

j.murphy@miami.edu

(305) 284-6157

Amie L Nielsen

Assoc. Professor

nielsen@miami.edu

(305) 284-6158

Kathryn M Nowotny, Ph.D.

Asst. Professor

kmn72@miami.edu



Alejandro Portes

Research Professor

a.portes@miami.edu

(305) 284-6126
Google Scholar   EDITORIAL BOARDS Actes De La Recherche En Sciences Sociales (2004 - ) International Migration Review (2001 - ) Global Networks (2000 - ) Revista Mexicana De Sociologia (1999 - ) Ethnic and Racial Studies (1995 - )

Margarita Rodriguez

Lecturer

margarita.rodriguez@miami.edu

(305) 284-6039
Margarita Rodriguez, Ph.D. is Lecturer at the Department of Sociology and Research Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas, University of Miami. Her extensive teaching portfolio includes a wide range of graduate and undergraduate courses. She has taught Introduction to Sociology; International Migration; International...

Jan Sokol-Katz

Senior Lecturer
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Faculty Advisor

jsokol@miami.edu

(305) 284-6762

Ellen S. Venzer

Lecturer

e.venzer@miami.edu

(305) 284-3111

George Wilson

Professor

gwilson1@miami.edu

(305) 284-6156
Co-Editor Social Currents, 2018-2021  Deputy Editor, Social Currents, 2015 - present Editorial Board, Research in the Sociology of Work, 2015 - present Editorial Board, Sage Open Review, 2015 - present

Secondary Appointments

Julio Frenk

President
Interim CEO, University of Miami Health System

jfrenk@miami.edu

(305) 284-5155
A fourth-generation physician whose paternal grandparents fled Germany in the early 1930s to build a new life in Mexico, Julio Frenk catalyzed his deep gratitude for the kindness of strangers into a lifelong mission to improve the health, education, and well-being of people around the world. Dr. Frenk became the sixth...

Bryan Page

Professor

bryan.page@miami.edu

(305) 284-6045
Dr. Page specializes in studying the consumption of drugs in urban, street based settings. His 42-year career in the anthropology of drug use has focused on the consequences and impacts of various patterns of legal and illegal drug use in a wide variety of cultural settings. Among his funded projects supported by the National Institute on Drug...

Robert E. Rosen

Professor

r.rosen@miami.edu

(305) 284-4801